Reflections on Trust vs Doubt

14 Nov

How do I define self trust? 

It is an honesty you create with yourself to be true to yourself. It is a full awareness of ourselves in both our strengths and weaknesses. It is “knowing” that you can attain your goals, live up to your values and overcome any blockades. It is being present and aware in all moments so you can react the way you’ve intended to.

In what areas of your life does self-trust show up the most?

Usually self-trust shows up the most for me when I am challenged or when life shakes things up. I often view it as a test of my own self trust in these situations. Because I place so much trust in the universe and the Divine, which I am a part of, it gives me that much more trust in myself.

What role does trust play in developing relationships?

I believe that trust is crucial for all authentic relationships. It allows ourselves to be open and vulnerable. It allows us to truly connect and allows us to go deeper in our getting to know one another.

What role does trust play in coaching both for you as a coach as well as for your client?

It is essential me to create a comfort zone for my client, which includes a space that is trusting between by client and myself. It allows my client to rely on me to meet my role as their coach. It also allows for an honest dialogue between us. It makes us both accountable. I am accountable for being professional and my client is accountable for his or her actions and taking the steps to meet the goals wanted to be attained.

What structures can you put in place to strengthen self-trust for clients?

I must maintain my commitment to my client. I must keep my focus on my client’s agenda. I must try to keep my values from making me bias towards my client. I mustn’t judge my client in their values or pursuit for certain goals.
Powerful questioning can help my client to feel empowered and accountable for making powerful changes and shifts that they want to take in their lives.


Other reflections about my views on trust and doubt:

Doubt and Perfection: I believe in balance. I believe that our imperfection are a balance to our ‘perfections’ if you will…Being perfect allows for no growth, therefore balance is essential so our imperfections should be embraced and worked on. Perfectionism doesn’t exist without imperfections because addressing and working on our imperfections allows us to seek improvement in our lives. Perfection takes the joy out of life because it is stagnant. It doesn’t allow for wanting more, for a journey to take place. The journey is perfect…as it is exactly, perfectly the path we are to take.

Here’s a great quote that was left with us at the end of class:

Beyond the duality of trust and doubt there is KNOWING.

“Know your own mind. Train yourself to think what you wish to think; be what you wish to be; feel what you wish to feel, and place no limit on that.

If you have a vague, subtle, unconscious fear, be quiet and ask yourself, Who am I?, What am I? Who is speaking? In this manner think back until your thought becomes perfectly clear again. Such is the power of right thinking, that it cancels and erases everything unlike itself.

But you must KNOW this WITHIN and not merely accept it with your intellect. KNOW, without a shadow of a doubt.”

-Ernest Holmes, Founder, Science of Mind
Leave a Reply

