Underlying Beliefs

12 Dec

Is that what I really think?? Sun, 12 December 2010 20:02
I think that it is important to discern our underlying beliefs because it could explain why we limit ourselves or behave the way we do. It could be the reason why we make goals and are not truly committed to them. 

Some unwanted behaviours that i have in my life are overeating and not working out. I have a lot of guilt about this and have a lot of trouble truly committing to change it. I know what needs to be done but resist taking all the steps needed to do so. I have gotten myself a peer coach to work on this issue.

Now I realize that being aware of my feelings that are involved with overeating or not taking the time to work out are essential to making a difference. I need to acknowledge the feelings without judgement, just to simply see that they are there. I need to sit with ‘the uncomfortable’ and be with it. And then I need to move on with different behaviours that i want to put into place. I also think that journaling my feelings throughout the day may help or in the evenings when i am more prone to overeat. It would help me to notice patterns, or just the feelings of my self in those moments..are they good feelings or motivated by something limiting my potential.
For me awareness is number one, and from there I can shift my belief to something more positive by looking at the achievements I have made in other areas of my life and put those into action for my health

The role of underlying beliefs in coaching is that identifying patterns in our clients thinking or behaviour could point in the direction of an underlying belief. If these can be recognized by our clients it gives them an understanding to past failures or successes they feel that they’ve had and understand the belief that was behind it. This understanding can help them shift their perspective and take action to behave differently by having different and positive motivation.

I would need to be aware of my underlying beliefs as a coach because it keeps me in check with any judgements I may have. It helps me to be aware of my strengths and weaknesses. It keeps me focused on my client with an unbiased ear.

Some great questions our class put together that I could ask my client when they are feeling unable to visualize their success:
Is it true
How do you know it’s true?
What would it be like if it weren’t true?
How do you react within that thought?
Who would you be without that thought?
What would your turn around statements be?
What’s the advantage of having this belief? How has it served me in my life?
Did you consciously choose to believe this?
Were your beliefs created by your or influenced by someone, Who?

Leave a Reply

