Diversity

5 Feb

just part of the mix!
Stereotypes certainly get in the way of getting to know people because we assume so much about them and don’t really get to the heart of who they are. I have made a choice to not assume that anyone is like someone else because of race, gender, ethnicity, sexual orientation, age…the list goes on. It is something that i try to be conscious of but at times, slip into assumptions as well. 

I have been so fortunate to meet many people from different cultures. I was part of Up With People, which is a leadership volunteer organization. It is all about embracing diversity and building harmony within diversity. I have the opportunity to travel with 160 different people from 26 different countries for one full year. We traveled to many countries and stayed with host 90 different host families within that year. What an education it was! It taught be about differences, understanding, patience, love, how similar humans are as a whole, and wanting to make a positive difference through acceptance and an open heart.

Since this time(11 years ago) I have moved to South Korea, where I am currently living and have lived for 9 years. I am Canadian and have friends here from Korea, Australia, England, United States, Ireland, South Africa, Japan, Nigeria..and other countries. Being an expat in another country keeps me rich in my experience with diversity. I can’t imagine living in a world without it! I am married to a Nigerian and I know our lives will be rich together because of how diverse we are. I also have friends who are gay, lesbian, old, young, muslim, christian, non believers, buddhist, and the list goes on.

I believe we are all different and can’t be labeled as one thing or another..we may identify with a religion, gender, age, status or whatever, but it doesn’t define us…it is just one part of who we are.

Leave a Reply

