Bloomin’ Spring!

22 Apr

This Sunday I will venture to the park with some good friends for a lovely picnic…however the cherry blossoms and magnolias are past their prime…very shortlived this year I have to say! But I got out in my neighborhood to take some photos of the trees in bloom. It really struck me at how lucky I am and was to have been able to witness these gorgeous blooms so early in the year in South Korea. Back home in Canada there is still snow in some places and this time of year in the parts where I lived(Ontario) is gloomy and grey. All who know me well, know that I am not much of a winter person…my own birth date(Sept 21st)  had me glum because the leaves were already turning and the air was cool, beckoning the winter season. Spring wouldn’t really start to show itself until mid May. But here in Korea by then it is getting hot! The humidity kicks in June…(Canada wins for summer weather!!)It is hot and humid and wet in Korea. But Korea has us beat for spring…gorgeous snow white blossoms of magnolias that are larger than your hand, and powdery pink cherry blossoms that are stunning and put a smile on my face whenever I see them.

I remember last spring looking at these trees in bloom and taking many photos as to not forget the sight when I moved back to Ontario(I have no memory of cherry blossoms or magnolias living there). I was so grateful to have had the opportunity to witness them here, in Seoul~such an urban place, and for maybe three weeks, the cement jungle that it is, was softened by the trees in bloom.  I actually said a prayer of thanks every time I walked past the trees on my way to work.  I had thought I would be back in Canada by now and that I would have missed it this year, but no, I lucked out again and continue to say my prayer of thanks when I walk by them still.

We had rain today… most of the blossoms are gone and the new green buds have popped out from the soak.  I am so glad that I took the time last week to go out and capture the beauty in photos. Daniel thinks my photos all look the same, but I can’t seem to get enough of the beauty of each tree and bough that is full of blossoms.

Here are some photos of the bloomin’ gorgeous springs I’ve had the pleasure of witnessing in South Korea. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

