Diet success! From rolls to rings! 9 kilos (20lbs) down!!!!!!

12 Jun

Wow!! I am certainly proud of myself for this!

I wasn’t expecting any loss this week because I have been so way off track with journaling, counting calories, or even regularly walking…due to the fact that my dog and I are infected with ringworm(not a worm but a very contagious fungus;called ringworm as for the circular red marks on the skin). Ring worm is highly contagious, and I think the little kitten Peanut I rescued, and had at my house before getting her adopted, is the culprit. Cats are often invisible carriers of this lovely and vicious fungus. As for Minu( my dog) and me, we are covered in lesions. I have about 15 and she has about 30.

NOT FUN!! The house has to be completely disinfected from drapes to drawers and even appliances, furniture or anything that comes into contact with me, animals and shedded fur (the spores can live off the body for 18 months!!!) It took my five days of doing laundry, vaccuming everyday, bleaching floors, washing and disinfecting clothes to get the house in a state that is recontamination-free(is that even a term??). I am on oral meds, using diluted bleach, vinegar, tea tree oil, nail polish, anti-fungal powder and anti-fungal soap on these lesions  as a means to not have them spread too much. I have to change my clothes several times a day and wash them everyday. I am told I am doing well, as many people can be covered with hundreds. My obsession with keeping clean is helping…I literally walk around with a tube on hand sanitizer in my pocket.

Minu got shaved, is having anti-fungus shampoo baths every second day, on meds, and i treat her lesions with powder, fungal cream, rubbing alcohol and vinegar.  She also has to wear a cone around her neck so she doesn’t lick her itchy sores…Ringworm is ITCHY!!

So what does any of this have to do with weight loss you ask??
A whole lot, as I found myself so busy cleaning that I wasn’t even thinking of food, not to mention, cleaning this much is a workout in itself! I have dropped 3lbs this week alone!  I did go for a long walk yesterday after going to the hospital, coming back, taking Minu to vet, picking up Minu at vet , and just general shopping had me walking 2hrs!

I do have to give myself credit, not only the ringworm, as before this, since my last post, have kept in check with my eating.I am surprising myself with how good I am being. I have next to no cravings. I’ve had an ice cream treat in my fridge for 3 wks and have had no desire to have it. I am careful of portions and was counting calories everyday up until the outbreak. So these habits have become so natural for me now, that I feel I am not resisting or fighting urges. WHAT A DIFFERENCE!!! I cannot remember if there was a time, even when I was thin in highschool, that I wasn’t obsessed with food and resisting and feeling guilty and just plain out of control.  I am a recovered bulimic and a binger for most of my 20s and 30s. So, to have control over it without feeling a struggle or resisting or cravings is in itself miraculous!!

So as part of the life coaching process, I need to celebrate my wins! Well it already feels like a celebration, despite my ugly fungus! I am fitting into clothes that I haven’t fit into in a long while, like 7 years! I am excited about seeing them on me and fitting well, I am excited by the number on the scale, and I writing this blog to celebrate this with all of you! But my coach tells me that I should do something more special, outside of weight related or food related areas…so my plan was to have a pedicure and buy myself some cute summer pants when I am fungus free!

In the meantime, I will be continuing my daily habits and keeping up with the incessant daily vaccuming, and washing floors and laundry. I will try to get back in the swing of things by taking more walks this week and writing my food/calorie journal and I will take the much needed time to relax…as the stress of all of this is not good.  ( I managed a 9 hrs sleep last night and a 2hr nap today!).

So as the title of this entry goes, rolls to rings…I am hoping for more rolls to go and the rings as well!

Will keep you all updated on the weight loss journey, it’s sure fun to share!

2 Responses to “Diet success! From rolls to rings! 9 kilos (20lbs) down!!!!!!”

  1. Sarah June 17, 2011 at 1:17 am #

    Way to go Allison! So proud of you!
    –Sarah Duke Cross (Cast D ’99)

  2. allycroc June 17, 2011 at 2:40 am #

    Thanks so much Sarah! 🙂

Leave a Reply

